Dating Is Hard

Stumbling Through The Adventures And Misadventures Of Dating With God's Grace

Dancing With Myself July 12, 2013

Filed under: Advice,Blog,Dates,Dating,Lessons — blueyedflicka @ 7:30 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Dancing-With-Myself

Sometimes I just have to take baby steps and start by dating…well, myself. I did that today. I know, it sounds a little weird, but it’s something that I’ve been trying to do to open myself up a little more. Take little trips, and do things by myself. Make myself more comfortable in the world outside.

I am typically, just not when it comes to being alone for too long. I don’t know if it’s because I’m screaming in my head, “stranger danger!” or if it’s just because with whatever I’m doing I just want to be left alone. I think I have people fooled that I’m more extroverted than I actually am.

What can I say? I should have been a spy with my skills of deception. On the other hand, days like this can prove to be interesting when I venture out on my own. Today, I went to the movies.

I had to catch up on a lot of the good movies that I have been missing. I almost went for a double feature but decided to catch up on blogging after the first one instead. After all, I’ve been stating that I need to blog more. So this was a prime opportunity as I already had everything with me.

The movie? White House Down. Excellent! It really keeps you to the end on what’s going on and why. A lot of things get blown up, and a lot of people are shot, and killed.

As for my experience, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. In my head I picture couples my age, teenagers, and guys pointing and staring at the girl by herself. Because everyone is focused on me right? Yeah, sure. NOT!

I walked in and got my free frozen drink and they scanned my ticket from Fandango, also free thanks to Christmas, and 20 minutes before the movie I am the only person in the theatre. What the heck is that all about? I must not have gone at the cool people’s time to go. This really sunk in when the only other people joining me in the theatre were couple’s in their 60’s. Even they had a date night!

Once they movie was started and I got relaxed it was actually really nice. I didn’t feel too uncomfortable being by myself. And that’s a good thing. I’ve been dependent a little too long on waiting for others to go and do something.

And that’s not the person I want to be. I’ve made too many excuses for not getting out and having fun. Being comfortable with yourself is a huge step in having confidence to be with someone else. If you don’t like hanging out with yourself, is anyone else going to?

Don’t get me wrong, I like being with just myself, now it’s time for me to start getting in the habit with extending that a little more. To stop worrying what others are going to think, people I don’t even know or interact with, and get on with picking me first, and making me happy.

I call one of my first dates with myself a great one. I even treated myself to coffee after. I shouldn’t really spoil myself too much though, I might get use to it.

 

Leave a Reply

