Dating Is Hard

Stumbling Through The Adventures And Misadventures Of Dating With God's Grace

Accents January 30, 2013

I can’t help it. I like accents. Or should I say I love them? Especially when a man has one. I mean, come on…it’s just melting.They surround us constantly whether someone is from a different country or within our own country. They just rock. There are however some accents that make me swoon.

1. Australian

English: Chris Hemsworth at the 2010 San Deigo...

Ex: Hugh Jackman, Chris Hemsworth, Simon Baker, Sam Worthington, Heath Ledger, and Alex O’Loughlin to name a few. Plus the fact that they aren’t bad to look at doesn’t hurt the situation either.

2. Irish and Scottish

Scottish actor Gerard Butler at the press conf...

Ex: Gerard Butler. Need I say more? Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Colin Farrell, Liam Neeson, Sean Connery, Dougray Scott, James McAvoy.

3. British

daniel-craig

Ex: Daniel Craig, Colin Firth, Paul Bettany, Clive Owens.

4. South African

Charlize Theron Dior

Ex: Charlize Theron, Arnold Vosloo

5. Italian

Ex: Monica Bellucci, and the rest well, are from old-time Hollywood or in foreign films most of us have not seen.

Just something about these above mentioned accents is awesome. There are a ton more I’m sure if I heard a lot more of I’d love just as much. As I was saying, I am a fan of accents. Words just seem to roll off the tongue better with one.

This even applies to people in the South like Alabama. I have a couple of friends from there that I love hearing from. That drawl gets me every time. And the politeness of the “ma’am” when spoken too. Oh, and if you’ve ever had someone call you “baby” with that accent, it’s well worth it. And probably the only time I have ever liked it.

Being called “ma’am” in Texas within hours of driving into the state and having the door opened for you by a perfect stranger. Chivalry dead? Not everywhere! I think I probably had a goofy shocked look on my face.

No matter where the accent comes from, ( minus some slang, and certain other areas that make the American public look not the brightest) they’re pretty neat. Accents define where you’re from, and add to character. And as we’ve seen in acting are easy to drop or pick up. Kind of.

It’s weird that some people don’t like accents to me. I’ve heard people say that they try to drop their accent because people don’t like it or can’t understand them. Who cares? Let it fly I say! People already give up so much of who they are to fit “the norm” why give that up to? Embrace it.

If someone makes fun, they’re just jealous. And if I ever mimic an accent, it’s because I’m jealous. I LOVE them. If I could be surrounded by accents daily I would. Bring them on world! Let’s keep our cultures alive and well. Differences are beautiful.

 

4 Responses to “Accents”

  1. French and Portuguese are noticeably absent. Monica Bellucci is incredible!

    Like

  2. I kind of love my accent. The stereotype that Americans love a British accent turns out to be completely true. I have a thing for the Southern drawl and have attempted it but I am terrible at it. Southern belles are just….*goes weak at the knees*

    Like


Leave a Reply

