Dating Is Hard

Stumbling Through The Adventures And Misadventures Of Dating With God's Grace

Hurry Up! And Wait… December 6, 2012

Cropped screenshot of Marilyn Monroe and Cary ...

It seems to me that all the dating potential men in my life lately flake out on me. It’s full on flirting and then NOTHING. I’ve taken this as a sign that they’re  just not that into me and therefore let it go. The unknown keeps your mind replaying “why hasn’t he called/text/emailed?”

He gave all the signs of being interested initially and then just quit. Why is that? What makes a guy just shut off? Maybe it’s because I’m not the typical girl who swoons over guys and is constantly berating them with texts and Facebook posts that they assume I’m not interested. I guess I can understand that. I’ve been called out on it before, “why do I get the feeling you’re not like the other girls?” Well, I’m not.

Women these days have taken to being the aggressor.  Flaunting their attributes about to catch a man’s attention. Being somewhat old-fashioned I have always believed that it should be the man who initiates, makes the move, shows he’s interested. At least that’s how I’ve always imagined it happening. It may have something to do with the fact that I am shy when it comes to engaging the opposite sex.

I’m never really sure if a man likes me otherwise. I get my signals crossed. I want to vet him out and make sure there is a solid foundation for my feelings. That it’s not just a one way street and I’m not going to be humiliated if I’m wrong. I’ve been humiliated before.

Publicly? Not really, but it sure feels like it. Like the whole world is watching you be made a fool of. Whether it was intentional or not, I still proceed with caution when it comes to my feelings.

I realized that some guys need reassurance too. So how do I find that happy medium? How do I show a guy that I’m interested without being overly upfront and forward? I get anxiety and sweat just thinking about it.

Maybe if I had just dated a little more from say… age 18-now… I’d be better at it. I just always had myself focused other places. And maybe a handful of people in that time span asked. Hopefully that will change this upcoming year.

Who knows what the New Year will bring?

 

One Response to “Hurry Up! And Wait…”

  1. Homepage Says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: noreinsdating.wordpress.com/2012/12/06/hurry-up-and-wait/ […]…

    Like


Leave a Reply

