Dating Is Hard

Stumbling Through The Adventures And Misadventures Of Dating With God's Grace

Misfire August 14, 2012

I had a fellow dating blogger write a post recently about the Accidental Text, you can read her post here. It triggered a moment in my dating history a few years back when I was on a date and happened to misfire a text that was supposed to go to a friend of mine inquiring how the date was going and instead went to my date, who happened to be in the passenger seat right next to me.

Talk about an awkward moment. Thankfully I had and have a good enough relationship with this person that I was able to just tell him like it is. We had been and are still friends.

So here is what happened…

He asked me out to dinner. My favorite food is Italian so he took me to the Olive Garden. Yum! I was excited! Then I find out that I have to pick him up. Yup. I’m driving out-of-town to the date I was asked on. Not exactly how I saw the date going to begin with.

Before I pick him up I go to the trouble of looking nice. First date you kind of want to make an impression right? Cute shoes, nice jeans, pretty top, and jewelry. Being the woman I am and the things that I typically do and wear i.e.; boots normally covered in something other than dirt, jeans, t-shirt, and a baseball cap or cowgirl hat and sunglasse.s with minimal makeup, dressing up is something that rarely occurs so when it does its nice. At least that’s what was going through my head at the time.

Apparently that was not the case for my date. The minute he walked up to the car I felt overdressed. It must have read over my face because he asked, “what?” I think I might have said something to the effect of “you’re wearing that?” as I was shocked at his casual attire (jeans, comfy shoes, glasses, and hair that looked like he just woke from a nap) and the immediate turn off that it was. He offered to go and change but I just let my ego go and said that it’s fine, while in the back of my head kicking myself for getting too involved in a date that didn’t seem as important to him as it was to me potentially.

I should have known how that moment was setting a tone for the rest of the evening. Once we got to the restaurant and were seating at our table the normal chatter that use to be teasing and slightly comfortable became annoying as his insecurities began to surface. I know better than to bring up members of the opposite sex or exes on a date. He did not. He started questioning about all the people I knew from his school, how I knew them, and how well. Assuming of course that I must have dated them all.

Which resulted in an hour or so of trying to defend myself and comfort his ego. Apparently a lot of the people I knew were the guys that got the girls (not this one) in school and the guy sitting across from me was always the wingman. A wingman that had a hard time believing this girl was not one of those girls. We finished eating and headed out to my car.

My idea of cute shoes were then brought into conversation as I had made the mistake of wearing heels next to a man who was not taller than I. This resulted in a Nicole Kidman and Keith Urban situation that did not bode well with my date. I can’t help that heels make my normal 5’9″ a “giant” but I hope not to repeat that mistake again.

Once in the car after shooting off a text to my friend that the date was not going so well I sent another after being asked “Why? What’s he doing?” Shortly after pressing send I see the phone in the seat next to me buzz. He picks it up and looks at it and then looks at me. I half smile. He then turns the phone to me and says, “I’m being an ass huh?”

A quick moment of panic washes over me as I realize what I had done. I had sent a rushed text to who I thought was my friend and instead had been my date. Yeeeeaaahh. The text had said something to the effect of him being an ass most the night. I quickly recovered, looked him straight in the eye and told him point-blank, “well, you are.”

Needless to say after some discussion we decided that dating was probably not the best option for us. Or maybe it was more me that made the decision. Thankfully though we ended up having a better friendship. I guess things can work out, although not in the way you may have intended initially, with a little bit of open honesty.

 

2 Responses to “Misfire”

  1. Wow…that is quite an accidental text!!! LOL. At least you were able to remain friends and thank goodness you were driving. If it had gotten worse you could have been stranded.

    Like


Leave a Reply

